You will deny Jesus for 20 centuries, and more …

I’m a born again skeptic.

Being young, I used to go to mass. I attended Pope Paul VI Wednesday’s weekly general audience in early 1978, and even did so with John Paul II, again in 1980. In between, Pope John Paul I died in a quite mysterious way, 33 days after being elected.

I mean, I had a relationship with religion and the church. But when I was about thirteen, I ceased attending mass, I ceased believing in the church. Still, I admit I do have a crisis nowadays, regarding Jesus and Christianism. I keep strong bonds with the core and essence of Christianism, mainly the concept of brotherhood.

But with all the recent events, i.e.: the resignation of pope Benedict XVI, the election of the new pope, and all the controversies about his past life, I have strong feelings about the Catholic Church (CC), I don’t want to keep for myself, because the CC affects the life of so many.

Not only the power and wealth of the Vatican City, neither all the corruption presumably part of the CC structure. It’s not about the role of the CC in so many holocausts (many carried out by the CC itself). It isn’t related to the involvement of the CC in the politics, international affairs, financial crisis and the fairness of our current society. I mean, it “IS” about all this, but there is, in my opinion, an issue that cannot be justified in any way:

It’s about the kids.

An institution that keeps within its members, people that commit the deadliest sin, i.e.: abuse of the innocent, is not trustworthy anymore. Not to say the ones that committed the atrocity themselves, for they deserve the worse punishment one can think of.

What can you expect from an organization that preaches love between men, compassion, forgiveness, and every virtue desired in the soul of a human being, but then covers and silences, the evil done to the souls of the most vulnerable and defenseless? And what’s worse, precisely when kids are given in custody to that institution.

No, I cannot expect anything.

Being an architect myself, I know when foundations are corrupted, the whole building can collapse anytime.

But this is an obvious notion for anyone. Isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

