Jesus actually died today.

Maybe the current crisis helped. Maybe being myself almost 50, also did its part. Maybe I had these things going round my head for some time now.

I remember John Lennon singing “I don’t believe in …. “, together with the notion that I lost contact with the Catholic church long ago. In fact, this blog is quite opposite to any kind of religious approach, if not totally opposite.

But the truth be told, I always kept some conviction on Jesus preach, on the commandment of loving your neighbour.

When in recent days, I saw the video “Zeitgeist”, I just couldn’t help ask myself who Jesus really was (IF he was). For at some point in your life, you start to distrust coincidences: Horus and the Sun in egyptian culture and religion, the Zodiac, the Equinoxes and Solstices related to the dates of December 25th and March 21st, these same dates appearing in different religions (Egypt, Greece, India, Greece again, Persia and many others), and also the same structure and pattern for the myth.

All this, could probably mean nothing from a faithful person point of view. And I’m going to accept the fact, that faith is not sustained – essentially – on … FACTS. But up to which extent are we then aware of how “imaginary” or, let’s put it the other way round, “not factual” is a religion, or following any belief?

Shouldn’t there be at least a minimum of truth and reality to be based upon?

Have the Crusades happen, should it had been known that Jesus was an icon, that hadn’t actually died on the cross for us?  Could the Catholic church (and other christian churches) have made such an achievement in terms of collective movement, only based in “another” myth? Aren’t all christians giving for granted that Jesus really lived 2012 years ago?

Again, to be honest, I’m not really that interested in historic facts, as much as my concern that under the light of this approach, the 11th commandment: “Love each other as God loves you”, there might have been a different underlying ideology, not the solution for the soul, but the solution for the social oppression of the powerful ones to the slaves and people, turning the “acquiescence” and “resigning” of the latter,  into a peaceful surrender.

What wisdom lies beneath such knowledge?

Turn yourself in to the powerful, for “they don’t know what they’re doing”?

Doesn’t Christianism have a social impact too, which actually flattens the path to those attached to worldly and mundane wealth?

4 Responses to “Jesus actually died today.”

  1. Religion is a very vast and enthralling area of study. I am a non theist who was once a practicing Muslim and I feel the very ideas that exist around religion are delusional.

    • Hi Reema, thanks for reading, liking and following the blog…🙂
      Glad to see we might share more than a passion for food.

      I understand what you mean by “delusional”, however, the aspect I wanted to stress in this post in particular, and in the blog in general, is the social impact of religion, since at an individual level, each one of us is absolutely free to believe whatever we want.

      I was keeping the belief that the concept of “loving each other as God loves us” was essential for empathy and keeping a society in brotherhood. However, it showed along the centuries, not only unachievable, but mostly, an effective tool for governance, where the poor have hopes and the rich, wealth.

      I don’t really know if our societies are actually evolving beyond technically and technologically, but If you asked me, I would like to see a next step in which we – as a global society, grow up in self awareness and after that, self management.

      This select club of people gathering in the virtual space, is the closest we can get to this awareness, as far as I can see.

      (Btw, biryani masala was wonderful yesterday, surely not as yours, but quite good for being the first time- I will post pictures soon – hehe …. on the B side of the record).

  2. Cromwellsheart Says:

    Thought provoking as usual Ricardo. Faith versus organised oppression for me. Constantine saw the opportunity for control and took it. The rest as they say is history.

    It is the man and not the beliefs that we should place importance on. What we do and how we impact on the world and others. To lead an honest and pure existence, well that is the foundation of most world faiths, men usurp those ideals. It is their lack of belief in goodness and their greed that “spoils” true faith, pollutes it.

    Faith fills a need in people, to look beyond the earthly. To see beyond the violence, greed and obscene wealth of the power hungry “elites”. That is why they do not command respect, that is why millions are not afeared of them, we pity them.

    Will the internet replace faith? I do not know, it is an artificial creation, a machine. I suppose time will tell, but it will never replace mans search for spiritual fulfilment.

    • I don’t have faith in Technology, John.
      I cannot say I have faith in anything.
      But technology is at its dawn, as aviation was 100 years ago. It’s true that airplanes not only helped men and women to travel at a speed never thought before, but it is also true that they have been used for destruction.

Leave a Reply

