Over there

 

 

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWEnjIhMYVk

The fence is long and high where we love

You can’t see the other side where they live

I’ve spied with my little eye
And I’ve sighed with my little sigh
But it seems I’ve give all that I can give
Every hour I have to count to ten
And a thousand times I’ve thought again
But it seems I’ve given all that I can give

Is there anyone there
Here is the fence that they built
{Over there}
This is the fence that hate built
Is anyone there
{Over there}

This is the fence that turns one into two
I want to break through but I’m though if I do
I’ve tried with my little try
And I’ve cried with my little cry
But it seems that the gate holds the only clue

Every hour I have to count to ten
And a thousand times I’ve though again
But it seems I’ve given all that I can give

Is there anyone there
Here is the fence that they built
{Over there}
This is the fence that hate built
Is anyone there
{Over there}

[Brilliant Solo From “Stan the Man”]

Every hour I have to count to ten
And a thousand times I’ve thought again

Is there anyone there
Here is the fence that they built
{Over there}
This is the fence that hate built
Is anyone there
{Over there}

Is there anyone there
Here is the fence that they built
{Over there}
This is the fence that hate built
Is anyone there
{Over there}

But it seems I’ve give all that I can give

Is there anyone there
Here is the fence that they built
{Over there}
This is the fence that hate built
Is anyone there
{Over there}

2 Responses to “Over there”

  1. Andrew Says:

    Wow, is this about the great dividing wall in Belfast or do we all ignore that one. Maybe we should all realise that these great fences were built to exclude people who were bent on wrong doing and so for the sake of a few extremists the whole population on both sides of the walls suffer. We should ensure that the Belfast wall gets the same publicity as the safety barrier in Israel.

    • Andrew,
      Thank you so much for commenting.
      I just found interesting the relation between the lyrics of the song, and the “safety” barrier in Israel, which nowadays is (understandably?) getting much more diffussion.
      To be honest, I was sure the song had a political meaning, but I wasn’t aware it was about the wall in Belfast. I will take time to find information about it and will certainly give it the deserved publicity.
      If you read some of my posts, you will find that it’s not the spirit of the blog, to address any country, nor any political ideology in particular, but as you point, the suffereing of common people due to any power structure being it governments, extremists, corporations, and so on.

Leave a Reply

